Me and Roku

By CW Ross

A few months back I decided that I wanted to get myself a new bigger tv. The one I had was 32”, which in my youth would have been considered a big screen tv. I grew up in the time when color tv was just starting to become affordable for the average family. And when I say affordable they still cost $500. and up for one.

Once you had the tv the next problem was finding something to watch on it because cable wasn't around so it was time to hook up a rabbit ear antenna and hope you could get more than one channel to watch.

Anyway back to now and my new tv. After searching around Amazon I decided that I couldn't pass up the TCL 50” Roku model. It was available for only $268. and free shipping. So I ordered it and the big box with it inside arrived about a week later by UPS.

I unboxed it and hooked it up using a wi-fi connection to be able to use the Roku service found on it.

Since then I have been exploring the wonderful world of Roku. I don't think I could ever be happy again with my tv viewing owning a tv that didn't have Roku or another similar tv service on it. It's crazy how many different channels you can get on Roku with large numbers of them being totally free.

At last count I have 195 favorite channels now set on mine. Everything you could want can be found in the available channels. I tend to mostly watch cars, airguns, news and classic tv shows related channels but have recently become a YouTube channel junky.

After watching YouTube videos on a small screen seeing them on a 50” big screen just makes them seem so much better. I've been watching a lot of scrappers and thrift shopping types of videos on it. I also like watching the Maple Motors channel. It's a car dealership located in Tennessee that sells mostly classic American hot rods. Each car they have is test driven on video and then posted to their channel. They even have a game in each video called, 'does the horn work?' It amazes me how someone who owned a sweet looking car that you can tell they've put a lot of money into never put a few bucks into getting the horn to work.

If you haven't dipped your toes into the world of smart tv watching then you need to get yourself a Roku tv or Roku streaming device and check it out.

Be warned though it is addictive and you'll find hours fastly passing by in your life as you explore all the different channels and programs that are floating around on it just waiting to be watched by you.

#Roku, #SmartTV, #CWRoss,